For the Love of Antiques: Old Gifts for Young People

From Dorothy R., Virginia

Art Deco BowlI had an old friend who gave me old gifts.  They were very old objects that would be classified as antiques.  In fact, she shopped in antique stores and antique malls for many of the beautiful things she gave to family and friends.  Now there are reminders all over my house of a friend who put extra thought into her gifts to me. Sadly, we have lost Viola, but here are some of the items that still remind me of my friend:

  • A beautiful scalloped edged platter I use to serve cookies.Lacy Edged Vase
  • An art deco bowl that makes bananas seem brighter and yellower.
  • A lacy edged vase to arrange short stemmed flowers into elegant arrangements.

Cookie Platter

So my Smart Shoppers’ Secret Tip is this:

If you are looking for something truly unique for you or yours, think “antique.”

JOIN THE FUN!  JOIN THE SMART SHOPPERS!  Have you discovered a great shopper tip?  Something that works and that you would share with your best friend? We don’t mean a specifically named “place” to shop, but we do mean a valuable recommendation about any kind of shopping.  This is the place to share secrets.  Just send us your tip in a comment or a reply.  🙂

This entry was posted in Antiques, Favorite Gifts, Shopping Tipster, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment