Ghosts of Christmas Past

Byers' Choice 2nd Edition Scrooge

VISIONS OF SUGAR PLUMS AND SCROOGE!

The VIRGINIA SHOPPER is unpacking Christmas ornaments.  “Better late than never”, as they say and I’m definitely late this year.  The trouble is, I linger as I unpack each carefully wrapped ornament or decoration, and I remember…..

There was that little boy running home from school carrying a blue ornament.  “It’s for you, Mommy.  I made it at school from a light bulb!” It was a gift meant to hang on the Christmas tree – a light bulb covered in paper-Machet and painted over.  I still have it all these years later.  The little boy is grown now – my son.

There are the birds – mostly cardinals, added ostensibly for color, but I really hang them because my Mom loved birds and all wild creatures.  My happiest memories were made at a park, where she took us to “feed the pigeons.”  The birds are for my mother.

A hand painted ostrich egg with images of two beloved Golden Retrievers given to us by a dear friend.  The retrievers are long gone but still cherished in my heart.   Oh, and here are the delicately made, fine glass globes found when I was so young and newly married.

Byers' Choice Spirit of Xmas Past

Byers' Choice Spirit of Xmas Present

Byers' Choice Spirit of Xmas Future

And  LOOK!  I just unwrapped the First Edition of  a Byers’ Choice Scrooge – he’s the inspiration for this trip down memory lane.  He reminds me of the Ghosts of Christmas Past, Present and Future.  And I know I can complete my set at Virginia Born and Bred.

Unpacking for Christmas I always expect to just string lights and add shiny things here and there to celebrate the season. But each time I am surprised and rejoice over re-discovered decorations that recall fond memories.  They are  a tribute to the cherished ghosts of Christmas Past and to the people and the creatures I love and loved before.

The VIRGINIA SHOPPER AND ALL THE STAFF AT VIRGINIA BORN AND BRED THANK YOU VALUED FRIENDS AND LOYAL CUSTOMERS

WE HOPE YOU HAVE FOUND OR RECEIVED THE HOLIDAY THINGS  YOU CHERISH – YOUR OWN BELOVED GHOSTS OF CHRISTMAS PAST.  AND OF COURSE, WE HOPE YOU FOUND MOST OF THEM AT VIRGINIA BORN AND BRED!

HAPPY HOLIDAYS AND BEYOND!!!

‘TIL WE MEET AGAIN…THE VIRGINIA SHOPPER!

This entry was posted in Christmas, Home Decor, Seasons and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

