What in the World is Wooloomooloo?!?!

 WooHoo for Wooloomooloo!

Here’s more from Guest Blogger/Shopper Guru – Christyl Lee:

I am admittedly not a wine connoisseur.  In fact, I would consider myself a “rookie” when it comes to the world of wine.  I understand some of the basics, but could definitely benefit from visiting with a sommelier.  Since October is Virginia Wine Month, I decided that there would be no better time for me to develop my palette by trying wines that are outside of my “comfort zone” of Riesling and Pinot Grigio.  I had no idea that I would be introduced to a wine called Wooloomooloo [wu’ lu mu’ lu] from Mountfair Vineyards near Charlottesville, Virginia.

I knew that I had to try this wine based on its name alone.  “Wooloomooloo” just sounds like fun and like nothing I have ever tried.  The lore is that the word “wooloomooloo” describes a mythical spirit that roams the Blue Ridge Mountains.  It is a fitting name, then, for this magical wine that blends 60% Petit Verdot, 30% Merlot, and 10% Cabernet Franc.  This wine is not too light or too heavy – it falls perfectly in between with rich berry flavors.

Wine lovers in Lexington, Virginia, who want to experience Wooloomooloo for themselves can visit Virginia Born and Bred to purchase a bottle (or two).  This is definitely a wine that you will want to enjoy and share during Virginia Wine Month!

For more information or to schedule a tasting at the vineyard, please visit Mountfair Vineyards online.

Be sure to visit Virginia Born and Bred online, or in store on 16 W. Washington Street in Lexington, Virginia, to place your order.

This entry was posted in Wine and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

