Conch Shell Memories

THE VIRGINIA SHOPPER’S PIK O’ THE MONTH –  A STERLING SILVER CONCH SHELL CHARM

I know – it’s such a little thing to earn a big title.   But to me, this perfectly detailed sterling silver Conch Shell Charm featured at Virginia Born and Bred, recalls memories – lots of memories.  I like to say, “I was born on a beach.”  Not exactly true, but born near a beach and always at the beach and the beach was the place where I needed to be for times of reflection in my young-er life.

When we were lucky enough to find a real conch shell, my Dad would tell me to hold it to my ear just so, and I could hear the ocean even when we got home and away from the waves.   I have one now and it reminds me of him too and all the happy, carefree hours our family spent at the shore.

Never mind hurricanes and tsunamis, jelly fish, and sand crabs, sticky shoes and sun burns.  They say there are negative ions seaside that create positive feelings.  Maybe that’s why I love the ocean and my dream is to be able to visit sand and surf whenever the mood strikes. The fact is, I still yearn for and sorely miss the beach even though I love my long-time adopted homeplace, the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia, where my spouse (the “Old Man”) and I finally settled. 

So, a Conch Shell Charm is The VIRGINIA SHOPPER’S PIK O’ THE MONTH.  It’s a real beauty, a ¾ inch piece exquisitely detailed by Hand & Hammer silversmiths offering sterling silver ocean memories.  I think I will start a link bracelet too (also available at Virginia Born and Bred), and keep adding charms that remind me “I was born on a beach.”

‘TIL WE MEET AGAIN…. The VIRGINIA SHOPPER

This entry was posted in Jewelry, Pik O' The Month, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

